Bulletproof Love

I really like this song, but it really doesn’t have that much to do with my content for today. Well, I guess it ties in a little bit. You’ll see.

We have had ‘evangelists’ on campus for as long as I can remember. I put evangelists in quotes because they are glorified hate preachers. One man I remember yelled at women as they walked by their outfits and how they were going to hell because of it. I remember feeling extremely uncomfortable about that in general because you are an old grown man.

The real problem I have is that they use Christianity as an excuse to tell everyone how terrible they are. God loves us. He loves us. He loves us no matter our shortcomings. We could be drug addicts, prostitutes, college students, gay, straight, bisexual, transgendered, he will love us all the same. We are His.

So these people that come on campus, how do they think that they are any better? If anything, they’re worse, because they are permenantly turning some people away from God and church.

These are the people I absolutely hate to be associated with when I say that I am Christian.

These are the people that have dragged our name through the mud for the past several years.

As someone with gay, bisexual, and transgendered friends, and someone who has never classified herself as closed minded, I can’t stand by for that.

It’s a struggle, but I hope to be a light for everyone else. I’m struggling, but so is everyone else.

Mark 12:31 The second is like this, “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” There is no other commandment greater than these.

Love,

J

*this tie in with this song title is that God’s love for us is bulletproof*

 

Leave a Reply

